205 School Board seats new members, re-elects Cervantez president

Local school boards this week seated new members, following elections in early April.

Galesburg District 205’s Board of Education held a special meeting Monday night to welcome three new members, and to say thanks to departing members.

Rodney Phelps and Courtney Rodriguez were seated as they won unopposed races at the ballots; as did Tianna Cervantez, who is now officially the longest serving board member entering her 5th year.

Galesburg firefighter Nicholas Walters did not run, but he was chosen by fellow board members to replace, Amy Pickrel, who stepped away from the board to take a job as a district communication specialist.

Walters in his letter asking the board to consider him, cited his community involvement, experience as a student on Chicago’s south side, and being a district parent as assets.

He indicated he may be interested in running for the seat in 2 years, when the term he was appointed to expires.

Cervantez was re-elected as board president, a position she’s held for two-years.

Rod Scherpe was selected as Vice-President and Vicki Banks as secretary.

Wayne Statham and Jean Ann Glasnovich decided to not run for another term, after serving four years.

Tags: , ,