Pair of CSC Instructors receive awards for excellence

Two Carl Sandburg College instructors are the latest recipients of the 2019 National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development Excellence Awards. Marjorie Smolensky an associate professor of biology since 2002 is one of the recipients. Smolensky won a 2015 Innovation of the Year award for her use of apps and smartboards to display 3D and 4D animations of the human anatomy for instruction. Earlier this month, she was named as Sandburg’s 2019 Faculty of the Year Award. The other recipient of the NISOD Excellence award was Suvineetha Herath for her development of a cybersecurity specialist certificate program that will be available in the fall semester. Herath is an information and communications technology instructor. In a statement, Herath said, “As an educator, my philosophy is to provide leadership to students in acquiring the knowledge, problem-solving abilities, and tangible skills to make lasting, positive differences in society.” The NISOD’s Excellence Awards are presented annually to recognize community and technical college faculty, administrators and staff who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues.