7am News, Sports and Obits

Latest WGIL news
Click to play or
Right click and "Save Target As" to download
Click for Galesburg, Illinois Forecast
Home - Cancellations - Community Events - Contact Us - Mornings - News - Obituaries - Pictures - Programs - Special Events Audio - Sports - Weather
Mountaineers and Bulldogs Get the Party Started
SYRACUSE, N.Y. (AP) -- Jerry West was in the backcourt and Dwight Eisenhower was in the White House the last time the West Virginia Mountaineers played in the Final Four. The year was 1959.

The Mountaineers are returning to the Final Four, thanks to their 73-66 upset of top-seed Kentucky to win the East Regional. Joe Mazzulla, who stepped in at point guard following an injury to Darryl Bryant in practice, scored a career-high 17 points in his first start of the season to help West Virginia beat top-seeded Kentucky 73-66 in the East Regional final to advance to its first Final Four since 1959.

Da'Sean Butler scored 18 points for the second-seeded Mountaineers, who won their 10th straight game.

John Wall scored 19 for Kentucky, which hasn't played in a Final Four since winning the national championship in 1998. Kentucky missed its first 20 3-pointers and shot an icy 34.3 percent from the field.

West Virginia plays the winner of Sunday's South Regional final, Duke vs. Baylor, in next Saturday's national semifinal.

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) -- Butler has earned a berth in the Final Four for the first time in its history.

The fifth-seeded Bulldogs beat second-seeded Kansas State 63-56 in the West Regional final in Salt Lake City. They're the first team from a mid-major conference to reach the Final Four since George Mason four years ago.

Gordon Hayward led the way with 22 points and nine rebounds while Shelvin Mack had 16 points for the Bulldogs. They extended the nation's longest men's basketball winning streak to 24.

They now head to downtown Indianapolis, where the Final Four will be played only five miles from their campus. The Bulldogs will play the winner of Sunday's Michigan State-Tennessee Midwest Regional champ.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)
News management powered by Xpression News
Read the latest local sports stories by clicking here