7am News, Sports and Obits

Latest WGIL news
Click to play or
Right click and "Save Target As" to download
Click for Galesburg, Illinois Forecast
Home - Cancellations - Community Events - Contact Us - Mornings - News - Obituaries - Pictures - Programs - Special Events Audio - Sports - Weather
Illini's McCamey Named to All-Big Ten Squad; Richardson Named Freshman of Year
PARK RIDGE, Ill. (AP) _ Ohio State guard Evan Turner has been named the Big Ten's player of the year in separate voting by conference coaches and members of the media.

Turner was tops in conference scoring, averaging 20.1 points per Big Ten game. He also averaged 8.3 rebounds, 2.0 steals and 5.9 assists.

He was joined Monday on both the coaches' and media first teams by fellow juniors Demetri McCamey of Illinois, Kalin Lucas of Michigan State and two players from Purdue, Robbie Hummel and E'Twaun Moore.

The Boilermakers' Chris Kramer was named the Big Ten defensive player of the year by the coaches, his second win. Illinois' D.J. Richardson was named freshman of the year by the coaches while Northwestern's Drew Crawford was chosen by the media.

Big Ten coaches chose Purdue's Matt Painter as the coach of the year while the media gave the honor to Ohio State's Thad Matta.

The second team was also identical for the coaches and media: DeShawn Sims, Michigan; John Shurna, Northwestern; Talor Battle, Penn State; JaJuan Johnson, Purdue; and Trevon Hughes, Wisconsin.

The coaches' third team included Manny Harris, Michigan; Draymond Green, Michigan State; Raymar Morgan, Michigan State; William Buford, Ohio State; and Jason Bohannon, Wisconsin. The media's third team was identical except Ohio State's David Lighty was chosen instead of Morgan.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)
News management powered by Xpression News
Read the latest local sports stories by clicking here