7am News, Sports and Obits

Latest WGIL news
Click to play or
Right click and "Save Target As" to download
Click for Galesburg, Illinois Forecast
Home - Cancellations - Community Events - Contact Us - Mornings - News - Obituaries - Pictures - Programs - Special Events Audio - Sports - Weather
Hamlin Picks Up 2nd Quarter "Driver of the Year" Award
INDIANAPOLIS (AP) -- Denny Hamlin has been honored as the second-quarter winner in Driver of the Year voting.

Hamlin had knee surgery one month before the quarter began, but still won three Sprint Cup Series races and one Nationwide Series race in the period that ended June 20.

Hamlin earned 12 first-place votes and 122 total points in voting to beat Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch. Busch had two first-place votes and 56 total points.

Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti received one first-place vote, as did Mike Edwards of NHRA's ProStock driver.

Driver of the Year is voted on by 20 media members from across the country. There are four quarterly winners, as well as the overall Driver of the Year award.

The competition is open to any American driver racing on four wheels in any series in the world.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)
News management powered by Xpression News
Read the latest local sports stories by clicking here