7am News, Sports and Obits

Latest WGIL news
Click to play or
Right click and "Save Target As" to download
Click for Galesburg, Illinois Forecast
Home - Cancellations - Community Events - Contact Us - Mornings - News - Obituaries - Pictures - Programs - Special Events Audio - Sports - Weather
Olympic Selects Eight from Monmouth-Roseville on All-Confernce Teams
POSTED 11:47 a-m, UPDATED 1:15 p-m 11/20/09 Four players each from the Monmouth-Roseville football and volleyball teams are named all-conference selections in the Olympic Conference.

The Titans' Derek Therrien is a unanimous choice for the Olympic All-Conference football squad. He's joined by teammates Nick McLaughlin and Patrick Thompson. Alex Burgland was named honorable mention all-conference.

Conference champion Sherrard led the way with seven all-conference players, six of them unanimous picks. Orion has six on the all-conference team and five are unanimous choices. Farmington and Macomb have three players each on the all-conference squad and Rockridge has two. Macomb has three more players named honorable mention all-conference, Sherrard has two and both Rockridge and Orion have one.

The Monmouth-Roseville volleyball team advanced to the sectional finals. Rebecca Gillen, Claire McGuire, Lynsey Weber and Taylor Woods were selected as all-Olympic Conference performers.

Both Orion and Sherrard have three all-conference performers, Macomb two and Farmington one. Farmington has two more players named as honorable mention all-conference while Orion, Rockridge and Macomb has one apiece.

2009 Olympic All-Conference Volleyball

Ashley Beck, Farmington
Taylor Claudon, Macomb
Britty Troline, Macomb
Rebecca Gillen, Monmouth-Roseville
Claire McGuire, Monmouth-Roseville
Lynsey Weber, Monmouth-Roseville
Taylor Woods, Monmouth-Roseville
Megan Blumenshein, Orion
Maddie DePorter, Orion
Kelly Hutton, Orion
Sarah Boraas, Sherrard
Lacey Hainline, Sherrard
Sam Kammerman, Sherrard

Honorable Mention

Ally Wrage, Farmington
Jenn Zinkhon, Farmington
Lexa Mahr, Macomb
Carine Christal, Orion
Erica Prince, Rockridge

2009 Olympic All-Conference Football

Corey Dawson, Farmington (U)
Dakota Smith, Farmington (U)
Jacob Blackard, Farmington (U)
Matt Gordy, Macomb (U)
Anthony Myrick, Macomb (U)
Brian Elliott, Macomb (U)
Tyler DeDecker, Orion (U)
Kennen Hutchison, Orion (U)
James Matson, Orion (U)
Evan Viager, Orion (U)
Brad Walker, Orion (U)
John Taylor, Orion
Nick McLaughlin, Monmouth-Roseville
Derek Therrien, Monmouth-Roseville (U)
Patrick Thompson, Monmouth-Roseville
Seth Hollmer, Rockridge (U)
Kaleb Wynn, Rockridge
Cody Congdon, Sherrard
John Sedlock, Sherrard (U)
James Stratton, Sherrard (U)
Nate Breiby, Sherrard (U)
Logan Frye, Sherrard (U)
Eric Link, Sherrard (U)
Zach Miller, Sherrard (U)

U = Unanimous

Honorable Mention

Alex Roberts, Macomb
Quin Johnson, Macomb
Brandon Cousins, Macomb
Alex Burgland, Monmouth-Roseville
Steven Bainter, Orion
Tanner Martin, Rockridge
Tyler Leffel, Sherrard
Mitch Heiar, Sherrard
News management powered by Xpression News
Read the latest local sports stories by clicking here