7am News, Sports and Obits

Latest WGIL news
Click to play or
Right click and "Save Target As" to download
Click for Galesburg, Illinois Forecast
Home - Cancellations - Community Events - Contact Us - Mornings - News - Obituaries - Pictures - Programs - Special Events Audio - Sports - Weather
Big Ten Divisions Get names: Leaders, Legends
COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) -- It'll be the Leaders vs. the Legends divisions when the Big Ten stages its first football championship game next season.

The conference also on Monday unveiled a new logo _ it is a block ``Big Ten'' with the numeral 10 embedded in the word last two letters of Big _ as well as two-person trophy names for 18 new football awards, including the Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy and the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year.

With Nebraska becoming the conference's 12th team earlier this year, the conference created new divisions that it introduced in September. Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin will be in the Leaders Division, with Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern in the Legends Division.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)
News management powered by Xpression News
Read the latest local sports stories by clicking here