Monmouth re-elects Davies, Abingdon goes with Swearingen

While the election saw fresh faces to Galesburg’s governing body, some area communities saw a mix of change and the same.

The City of Monmouth had contested races for several positions, including the mayor, city clerk, and two alderman seats.

Incumbent Rod Davies scored over 53 percent of the vote to defeat his challenger in business owner Justin Lipes. Also retaining their seats were City Clerk Susan Trevor and First Ward Alderman Justin Thomas.

In a three-way race for Fourth Ward Alderman, John Vanvleet narrowly defeated Kevin Ferry and Chad Braatz. Ferry was just seven votes shy of defeating Vanvleet.

In Abingdon, in the most lopsided vote of the night, incumbent Myron Hovind was defeated by former police chief Ed Swearingen by an over 60 percent margin.

Third Ward Alderman Jayson Johnson defeated challenger Raymond Hutson while Denise Dorethy won a two-year unexpired term for Fourth Ward Alderman, beating Tim Presley.

In East Galesburg, voters opted to not allow elected board members to be able to operate Village equipment, vehicles, machinery, and do repairs within the Village.

In Alexis, Rick Benson was voted in as Village President while Julie Corben Vanfleet, Moses Aderson, and Jesse Hare were elected as Village Trustees.